Snowing Awards

Don't forget to like and share! 🙂

When an awards night is named after one of the namesakes of a college, people tend to pay attention, and attention there was on Monday the 10th for the Lorenzo Snow Awards.

After a welcome by President Carlston, Snow Alumnus Carlee Hansen spoke. Her message gave the audience inspiration and concluded with a message reminiscent of a previous class taught by Beckie Hermansen about love. AneUnhu Gwatidzo, last year’s Badger of the Year, spoke and quoted Marianne Williamson: “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world.”

This night centered around recognizing excellence and dedication put forth by Snow students and was conducted by John Kuchenmeister. The Lorenzo Snow Awards Committee combed carefully through hundreds of nominations, and had a rough time choosing out of the many wonderful options proving how Snow hosts a community of hardworking students that can go on to change the world.

Zach Hunsaker - Male Varsity Athlete

Zach Hunsaker – Male Varsity Athlete

Asia Nicole Nielson - Fine Arts, Communication, and New Media

Asia Nicole Nielson – Fine Arts, Communication, and New Media

Alyssa Worthington - Student Employee

Alyssa Worthington – Student Employee

Colton Purcell - Inspirational Student

Colton Purcell – Inspirational Student

Schuyler Bradley - Lorenzo Snow Award

Schuyler Bradley – Lorenzo Snow Award

Magic the Gathering - Club

Magic the Gathering – Club

Nominated in different categories, students were asked to accept the nomination and respond with more information and a resume. Chosen from the finalists, winners were chosen in each category.

Volunteer Service- Emily Kidman

Student Employee- Alyssa Worthington

Club- Magic The Gathering

Intramural Athlete- Brinlee Hamblin

Female Varsity Athlete- Alyssa Arslanian

Male Varsity Athlete- Zach Hunsaker

Inspirational Student- Colton Purcell

Man of the Year- Dustin Peterson

Woman of the Year- Shelby Cameron

Badger of the Year- Que Anh (Amy) Ha

Lorenzo Snow Award- Schuyler Bradley


Outstanding Academic Students

Business and Applied Technologies: Rachelle Jeffery, Stephanie Olson, Hadley Sorensen

Fine Arts, Communications, and New Media: Rebecca Bair, Katelyn Wilson, Asia-Nicole Nielson

Humanities: Courtney Fairbourn, Abby Krzymowski

Natural Science and Mathematics: Mattew Bills, Tran Que Diep, Jakob Watson

Social and Behavioral Sciences: Levi Cragun, Kallie Mounteer, AJ Thorn


A hearty congratulations is extending to these students for exemplifying the Snow College mission statement: “Snow College continues a tradition of excellence, encourages a culture of innovation, and cultivates an atmosphere of engagement to advance students in the achievement of their educational goals.”

Be first to comment

Solve : *
8 × 30 =